Various Artists - LateNightTales Present: Bill Brewster After Dark Vespertine 2LP LTD Numbered Red Vinyl

Product Information

2LP - Limited Collector's Edition Virgin Red Vinyl.

The esteemed scribe, proper DJ, and discreetly deft twiddler Bill Brewster, drops the latest instalment in his ‘After Dark’ series, for Late Night Tales.

A throbbing, louche and leisurely affair, groove is very much at the heart of this freestyle selection, a vibe which Bill describes as “a basement, a red light and a sound system. Or, as the Beastie’s once rapped, slow and low, that is the tempo”. There’s Hawaiian drum machine bossa balearica from Island Band, percussive afro post punk from Czech jazz singer Jana Koubkova, and breathy-bubbling-dubwise-slap-bass-soul from Debbe and The Code. There’s also sultry deep house mood music from Lanowa, infectious bouncy jazz funk breaks from Canada High, and Nail’s life affirming re-edit of singer songwriter Gilbert O Sullivan’s electro pop gem ‘So What’.

Bill’s own studio skills are present and correct too, featuring an undulating bassy version of country troubadour Jeb Loy Nichols, reworked along Alex Tepper under their Hotel Motel moniker, and a chugged-up squelchy disco take on Khruangbin, this time paired with Raj Gupta, as Mang Dynasty. Chock full of exclusives, tracks are either completely brand new, or available digitally for the first time, whilst others are wallet-rinsing rarities if purchased elsewhere. Whichever way you slice it though, every tune is a highlight, working equally well as standalone nuggets, or within Bill’s fluidly cohesive mix. Whether he’s taking the roof off a club with his unique selection of deep and tough house music, enchanting a backroom with a genre-bending set of disco, Balearic, rock and hip hop or playing chillout music in a bay in Croatia, Bill Brewster is the man for all occasions.


A1. Island Band – Idle Hours [4:55]
A2. Chaz Jankel – Manon Manon [4.56]
A3. Gilbert O’Sullivan – So What (Nail Edit) [8.44]*

B1. Rheinzand – Kills And Kisses (Scorpio Twins Remix) [8.10]*
B2. Canada High – Le Chiffre [5.02]*
B3. Lanowa – Burning Up [6.38]*

C1. Khruangbin – So We Won’t Forget (Mang Dynasty Irreverent Dub) [7.16]*
C2. Fernando – 1998 [7.00]*
C3. Debbe & The Code – Code Of Love [6.02]

D1. Jana Koubková - Nijána [6.15]
D2. IPG V Hot Toddy – Open Space [7.32]*
D3. Smashed Atoms & Backdoor Man – Hey Dreamer [6.50]*

* = After Dark Vinyl Exclusive
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
In stock and ready for shipping

Frequently Bought Together

We Accept

American Express
Apple Pay
Google Pay
Shop Pay
Union Pay

Recommended for You